Reorganization Meeting Minutes December 6, 2016 Page 1 of 3

# Coatesville area school district school board meeting minutes

Coatesville Area Senior High School Auditorium DECEMBER 6, 2016 – 6:07 p.m.

**District Mission Statement** 

The Mission of the Coatesville Area School District, a learning community rich in diversity and committed to excellence, is to educate all students by providing rigorous educational opportunities to become responsible, productive, life-long learners in a global society.

### 1. ADVISEMENT

This meeting was called for the reorganization of the School Board under appropriate sections of Article IV of the School Laws of Pennsylvania as amended. Public notice was given for this meeting in accordance with Act 93 of 1998, Section 1. By notice of the Board Secretary, Board Members are advised that all votes shall be regarded as roll call votes.

## 2. <u>ROLL CALL</u>

#### **Board of School Directors**

Dean A. Snyder, President – present Ann M. Wuertz, Vice President – present Stuart C. N. Deets – present Brenda L. Geist – present Bashera Grove – present James Hills – present Laurie C. Knecht – present Thomas Siedenbuehl – present Deborah L. Thompson – present

#### **Administration**

Dr. Cathy Taschner, Superintendent of Schools – *present* Dr. Kimberly R. Donahue, Assistant to the Superintendent of Curriculum and Learning – *present* Ronald G. Kabonick, Director of Business Administration and School Board Secretary – *present* Dr. Siobhan Leavy, Director of Pupil Services – *present* Jason Palaia, Director of Elementary and Secondary Education – *present* 

## **General Counsel**

Judy Shopp, Esquire - present

## 3. <u>MOMENT OF SILENCE AND FLAG SALUTE</u>

## 4. <u>**REVIEW OF VOTING PROCEDURES</u>**</u>

Board President, Dean Snyder, read aloud the voting procedures.

25-Jan-17 9:39 AM

#### 5. <u>ELECTION OF TEMPORARY PRESIDENT</u>

Deborah Thompson moved to nominate Bashera Grove for Temporary President. This motion was seconded by Laurie Knecht.

On an 8-0-0 roll call vote, Bashera Grove was elected Temporary President. Ms. Grove took the chair.

#### 6. <u>ELECTION OF OFFICERS</u>

#### A. <u>PRESIDENT</u>

Temporary President Grove asked for nominations for President for the year 2017.

#### Nominations for President:

Deborah Thompson moved to nominate Dean Snyder for President. This motion was seconded by Laurie Knecht.

Temporary President Bashera Grove moved that nominations for President be closed.

On an 8-0-0 roll call vote, Dean Snyder was reelected as President for the year 2017. President Snyder took the chair.

#### B. <u>VICE PRESIDENT</u>

President Snyder asked for nominations for Vice President for the year 2017.

#### Nominations for Vice President:

Laurie Knecht moved to nominate Ann Wuertz for Vice President. This motion was seconded by Deborah Thompson.

President Dean Snyder moved that nominations for Vice President be closed.

On an 8-0-0 roll call vote, Ann Wuertz was reelected as Vice President for the year 2017.

#### 7. <u>BOARD MEMBERS REMARKS</u>

#### 8. <u>PUBLIC BOARD MEETING DATES</u>

**RECOMMENDED MOTION:** That the Board of School Directors approve the Public School Board Meetings for 2017 be advertised as outlined below.

In accordance with School Board Policy #006, adopted September 27, 2001 and revised on May 23, 2002, October 19, 2004 and March 22, 2016, all Board Members and the District Superintendent shall be advised of the dates and times for the scheduled public Committee and Board meetings.

25-Jan-17 9:39 AM

#### Reorganization Meeting Minutes December 6, 2016 Page 3 of 3

#### SCHOOL BOARD MEETINGS

January 24, 2017 February 28, 2017 March 28, 2017 April 25, 2017 May 23, 2017 June 27, 2017 July 25, 2017 August 22, 2017 September 26, 2017 October 24, 2017 November 28, 2017 December 5, 2017

All School Board meetings will begin at 7:00 p.m. in the C.A.S.H. Auditorium located at 1445 E. Lincoln Highway, Coatesville.

### **COMMITTEES & SPECIAL MEETINGS**

January 10, 2017 February 14, 2017 March 14, 2017 April 11, 2017 May 9, 2017 June 13, 2017 July 11, 2017 August 8, 2017 September 12, 2017 October 10, 2017 November 14, 2017 No committee meetings in December

All committees will meet on a rotational basis beginning at 6:00 p.m. in the C.A.S.H. Auditorium with a special meeting to follow.

#### 9. <u>COMMITTEES</u>

**RECOMMENDED MOTION:** That the Board of School Directors approve the committees as follows:

<ul><li>Education Committee</li><li>Finance and Personnel Committee</li></ul>			Operations Committee Policy Committee
Motion: Stuart Deets	Second: Ann Wu	iertz	Vote: 8-0-0

#### 10. PUBLIC COMMENT

The Board has requested all persons making comments of public concern to list their name, address, telephone number and topic(s) on the sheet provided. There is a three (3) minute time limit per person.

#### 11. <u>ADJOURNMENT</u>

This meeting was adjourned at 6:16 p.m. on a motion by Stuart Deets and seconded by Laurie Knecht.

Respectfully submitted, Karen Jackson, Recording Secretary

Ronald G. Kabonick, School Board Secretary

Anyone wishing to review the minutes verbatim should contact the School Board Secretary to request a copy of the digital/audio file.